The Varsity Message Board

Lombardi Award names high school finalists

– Dallas Jackson,

In association with the Rotary Club of Houston and the Rotary Lombardi Award, the “Chip Off the Old Block” finalists have been announced.

Since 1970 the Rotary Lombardi Award has been given annually to the top offense or defensive lineman who, in addition to outstanding performance and ability, best exemplifies the discipline of Vince Lombardi.

gI_119606_Lombardi-TrophyThe second annual Chip Off the Old Block award is given to those high school football players that best represent the same traits as expected of their collegiate counterparts.

As an homage to the Seven Blocks of Granite offensive line at Fordham University of which Vince Lombardi was a member during the 1936 season these high school finalists are dubbed “Chips Off the Old Block” as they project to be tremendous collegiate athlete as well as being identified early as potential, future Lombardi Award candidates.

The finalists are divided into seven, select geographic regions from the Northeast, Midwest, South, and West as well as an individual state winners from California, Florida, and Texas.

The 2013 honorees will be announced during the Rotary Lombardi Award Presentation on December 11 at the Wortham Center in downtown Houston, Texas. The Rotary Lombardi Award ceremony will again be shown across the country via a live television broadcast on CBS Sports Network, hosted by Spencer Tillman.

Inaugural winners included Robert Nkemdiche (Ole Miss) from the South and Eddie Vanderdoes (UCLA) representing California.

Joey Bosa (Ohio State), Steve Elmer (Notre Dame), Patrick Kugler (Michigan), Scott Pagano (Clemson), and Kent Perkins (Texas) were the winners for Florida, Midwest, Northeast, West, and Texas, respectively.


CaliforniaJamadre Cobb, LBLos Angeles (Cali.) SalesianArizona
CaliforniaMatt Dickerson, DESan Mateo (Cali.) Junipero SerraNotre Dame
CaliforniaDamien Mama, OTBellflower (Cali.) St. John BoscoUndeclared
FloridaDillon Bates, LBPonte Vedra (Fla.) HighTennessee
FloridaDemarcus Christmas, DTBradenton (Fla.) ManateeFlorida State
FloridaKC McDermott, OTWellington (Fla.) Palm Beach CentralMiami
MidwestDante Booker, LBAkron (Ohio) St. Vincent-St. MaryOhio State
MidwestDaniel Helm, TEChatham (Ill.) GlenwoodTennessee
MidwestBraden Smith, OTOlathe (Kan.) SouthUndeclared
NortheastDa’Shawn Hand, DEWoodbridge (Va.) HighAlabama
NortheastDamien Prince, OTForestville (Md.) Bishop McNamaraUndeclared
NortheastQuenton Nelson, OTRed Bank (N.J.) CatholicNotre Dame
SouthAlex Bars, OTNashville (Tenn.) Montgomery BellNotre Dame
SouthCameron Robinson, OTWest Monroe (La.) HighAlabama
SouthTre Williams, LBMobile (Ala.) St. Paul’sAuburn
TexasDemetrius Knox, OGFort Worth (Texas) All Saints EpiscopalOhio State
TexasSolomon Thomas, DECoppell (Texas) HighUndeclared
TexasZach Whitley, LBHouston (Texas) North ShoreAlabama
WestConnor Humphreys, DEPortland (Ore.) Central CatholicArizona State
WestDalton Schultz, TESouth Jordan (Utah) BinghamUndeclared
WestCasey Tucker, OTChandler (Ariz.) HamiltonUndeclared


About the Rotary Lombardi Award:
Established in 1970, the Rotary Lombardi Award has raised millions of dollars to help support cancer research, public education and direct services to cancer patients. The tradition of service about self – the Rotary motto – continues this year. The 43rd Rotary Lombardi Award show will be held December 11, 2013, at the Wortham Center in Houston, Texas and will again be hosted by CBS Sports Network analyst Spencer Tillman.

For more information on the schedule of events and ticket opportunities, please visit and follow the March to Gridiron Greatness on Twitter at @RotaryLombardiAward.

National College Football Awards Association:
The Rotary Lombardi Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website,


About Dallas Jackson

Dallas Jackson is the national high school football analyst for He has been compiling the HSFB100 rankings since the 2007 season. His work has been featured in Sports Illustrated, American Football Monthly, among many others, and he was featured in the Frontline special, Football High.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>